One Hundred Percent

I think I get why they make nursing school so stressful. Our instructors are preparing us for the rest of our careers. Nursing is stressful. When you are a nurse, you have to function at 100% everyday.

If 99.9% was enough, then in the USA:

12 newborn babies will be given to the wrong parents everyday.
20,000 drug prescriptions will be filled incorrectly each year.
291 pacemaker operations will be performed incorrectly.
107 incorrect medical procedures will be performed each day.

If it is so stressful, why do people become nurses?

Yesterday, I was walking down the hall in an Alzheimer’s center and a patient was walking towards me. The patient’s disease was pretty well advanced and she talked but it was gibberish not actually words. I told her “ok Rose” (Rose is not really her name) as she grabbed my hands. She smiled so big and had so much joy in her eyes. It melted my heart. I was in a great mood for the rest of the evening. She had every right to be frustrated and angry and depressed but she wasn’t.

It was simple, just a smile, but it meant so much more.

Leave a Reply

