Rough Week

I had clinicals Monday and Tuesday in labor and delivery. It was really awesome. I got to see a vaginal delivery, a circumcision, and an epidural. I cried a little during the delivery, just a little tear 🙂 . I can’t wait to have my own! I had a test on Wednesday, which I failed. My first fail of nursing school. It sucked. It wasn’t a bad fail I still have a B in the class. I made a 73, and for those who may read this and not know, a 74 is failing in nursing school. My test was over disease processes of the digestive system, respiratory system, and the liver. I got over that pretty quick but then on Thursday we had tracheostomy suction check-offs. I don’t have the results yet but I am pretty sure I failed. I accidentally applied suction on the way down the trachea. Grr. Then I was just mad at myself. I had not done that once during lab practice.

After check-offs, I went out for drinks with a few girls from my class. I got home about 6pm laid down on the couch and went to sleep. I slept for 14 hours! I felt much better when I got up though, sometimes a good rest is the best thing for a stressful week.

Oh, and just to add to the stress, two people got kicked out of the program this week :/ . One person was in my clinical group and was inserting foley catheters. Since we have not learned that skill in class yet and checked off on it, we are not allowed to do that in a clinical setting. Another person did not get some important paperwork turned in on time.  I know how hard we have all worked to get this far, and how much being a nurse means to every single person in my class, so it is just very sad when someone gets kicked out.

I have 3 months and 26 days left until graduation. I. CAN. NOT. WAIT.

Leave a Reply

