It’s Been Seven Weeks

Wordle: student nurse

Wow, how things have changed in the last seven weeks of nursing school. I have already grown and learned so much. And man, I never imagined it being so hard. I work my butt off and sometimes barely pass. It’s not like other classes I have taken in college, the test questions are not black and white, you can’t just look up this answer in the book. On the tests, there are usually multiple correct answers but you have to choose the best one. I have luckily passes everything except my last check-off, which was vital signs check off. That one really made me upset because I failed the blood pressure part of it. Our instructors have a double earpiece stethoscope so that they can hear the same thing you are and you both watch the gauge. While practicing I got it perfect with all three of our instructors, so it was really frustrating that I failed that part. I believe re-checks are next week so I can still get a 50% on that one 😦

Speaking of next week, I start clinicals!!! I am so excited, scared, nervous, proud, happy, stressed about it that it makes me want to cry when I think about it! So many emotions lol. I am excited we are finally going to be able to put all this book work to use. Scared that I will hate it or suck at it. Nervous I will do something wrong, hurt a patient, or disappoint my clinical instructor. Proud that I made it this far. Happy that it’s finally happening. Stressed because I have clinicals, my first care plan, vital sign re-checks, and two tests next week (not even to mention the 3 tests I just got done studying my butt off for). Oh my, deep breath.

For the next 8 weeks we will be in a nursing home. I worked in a chiropractic office before and the geriatric patients were actually my favorite. We saw these people sometimes three times a week, and once you get to know them and get them out of pain, they become less grouchy and most of the time they are way more nice than the younger patients. It’s really cool to get them talking about their life events. So I am excited to be in the nursing home. On the other hand, I am assigned to the same hospital memaw died at last year. It will be sad but I am at peace with the fact that she is in heaven and free of pain now.

I am excited that we will be required to keep a journal of our clinical experience. I love journals, I just get busy with life and forget I have one. Kind of like this blog…. Since it is for a grade though, I will keep up with it and it will be a really cool thing for me to keep for always.

On another note, we moved into a house! We didn’t buy one but we are renting one. It is nice to be in a house instead of an apartment. The walls were so thin in the last apartment we could hear our upstairs neighbors doing it. No joke, it was gross. Couldn’t even look them in the eye after that. We just hated it there. We are loving the house so far. It has two bedrooms and a “study area”, all hard wood floors, a storage shed in the back yard. The only down side is that it only has one bathroom. James loves working in the yard and is out there everyday doing something. I love the hardwood floors. The floors are loud and cold, but Riley threw up this morning and it was much easier to clean than carpet.

But I have to go buy a nursing diagnosis book to do my first care plan! So I will leave you with a picture of my flashcards I have made to help me with my tests so far 🙂 I started cutting the index cards in half to save money haha.

20120303-082104.jpg

Leave a Reply

