What to do?

When I first told everyone that I was going to nursing school, almost everyones first question was “What kind of nurse do you want to be?”. Well you know the kind that takes temperatures, gives meds, helps people…. Hadn’t even thought about it. I am not sure if that is a bad thing – that I haven’t even thought about what kind of nurse I wanted to be.

So I thought it was time to put some serious thought into the different specialties. THERE ARE SO MANY. I thought about what made me want to become a nurse, and here are some points I came up with:

  • I like building a relationship with patients.
  • I love the heart.
  • I enjoy working with older people.

I used to work at a chiropractic clinic and we would see the same patients 2-3 times a week for around 6 weeks. I liked getting to know the patients. I would work with them and help them while they were doing their exercises, and I would end up building relationships with them. I got to know them on a personal level, like where they worked, all about their kids, personal interests, and stuff like that.

Also at the clinic, a lot of older people would come in. At first they intimidated me. A lot of them seemed to always have a scowl on their faces. Which I don’t blame them, they were in pain. After working with these patients I started to enjoy them. Besides a lot of them have cool stories from when they were young.

And well you can read here for my story on the heart.

So I just did a search of different nursing specialties and what I found.

Drumroll please…..

Cardiology rehab nursing!

  • It has to do with helping the heart.
  • There will probably not be many kids.
  • I think it will be a profession where the nurse sees the patients for many days and are able to build a better relationship with them.

The runner up is home health.

And I am pretty sure that the one area that I do not want to be in is mental health.

I know as I start clinicals and start getting to experience all the different areas of nursing I could very well change my mind. So I am still going to keep an open mind because I know I do not have to choose anything just yet.

**When I am thinking about the different departments I would like to work in, I am thinking about right after I get my LVN or ADN. I do plan on working my way up to the BDN before I turn 36 so that I can join the air force as an officer to work as a nurse.**

Leave a Reply

