Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

This morning before even getting out of bed I was on google reader. I found this smoothie recipe over at Kath Eats Real Food. I LOVE pumpkin. In fact fall might just be my favorite season because of all the flavored pumpkin stuff that starts to come out. And because Starbucks starts selling their pumpkin spice latte, which was the first coffee I ever bought from Starbucks (is it weird that I remember that morning still it was about 5-6 years ago?). I made mine a little different because I didn’t have any yogurt & I use almond milk. Here is my variation which was still super yummy:

1 + 1/4 frozen banana
1/2 canned pumpkin
1 cup vanilla almond milk
4 ice cubes
pinch of xanthan gum, all spice, cloves, and cinnamon

Topped with sliced almonds and another sprinkle of cinnamon.

I added the xanthan gum for some thickness since I didn’t have plain yogurt. I wanted to be able to eat it out of a bowl. It was really good, and I still have pumpkin for another one tomorrow!

20111001-094444.jpg

I don’t know why I keep taking these awful pictures with my phone when I have a really good camera.

One thought on “Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

  1. I have been on a pumpkin kick recently too! Your smoothie sounds delicious. Sometimes when I want thickness or froth I will just blend a lot of ice in it. Cute that you eat it in a bowl, almost like soup. Which reminds me there are probably a lot of good pumpkin soup recipes out there! Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

