Chicken Fried Quinoa

I bought a box of quinoa a couple of weeks ago to try for the first time. I first attempted to make a sweet breakfast. It was not so great. But I was determined to give it another try. So when I found this recipe I thought it would be perfect. It reminds me of fried rice that you can get at the chinese restaurants.

I did not have all the ingredients so I adapted it a little. I did not have soy sauce so I used worcestershire sauce (the soy sauce would make it more chinese-esque), and I added chicken. It was so good, I couldn’t wait until I was done eating to start this post 🙂

Ingredients:

1/2 c. dry quinoa

1 c. chicken broth

2 c. broccoli florets

2 c. mushroom

1 chicken breast

2 minced garlic cloves

2 tsp worcestershire sauce

salt & pepper to taste

a couple of tablespoons of cooking fat (I used olive oil)

water

1.After rinsing the quinoa combine it with the cup of chicken broth and bring to a boil. Add one clove of minced garlic. Reduce heat, cover, and let simmer for about 15 minutes or until broth is absorbed.

2. Cube the chicken breast and fry in the olive oil.

3. When the chicken is done add the two cups of broccoli and about an inch of water. Boil until the broccoli is tender.

4. Drain the broccoli and chicken, add the rest of the garlic, and the mushrooms stir while frying for a couple of minutes to cook mushrooms.

5. Add the worcestershire sauce and the cooked quinoa, fry for a few more minutes. Salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a Reply

