September Spending Freeze: Week One

{Via Smart and Sassy with Sprinkles}

It has been a week + one day since I laid out some strict rules for my finances this month. I will honestly say that I have not followed the rules exactly…
I know! I’m so weak!
I really don’t think I did awful, but I could have done better. After reading Allison’s SSF: Triggers post and reflecting back on my “moments of weakness” I did noticed a couple of triggers I have. My biggest problem is not wanting to cook after my 10 hour work days. I haven’t exactly come up with a game plan for next week yet, but I’m working on it. Another big trigger for me is the fact that my husband is not 100% on board with this challenge. So when I come home from my 10 hour shift and he says “the game is on tonight, do want me to order pizza?”, it is REALLY hard to say no.
So, here is what I did that went against the rules:
  • I bought an eyelash stain I discovered at Wally World– this one actually bit me in the butt because the product is horrible! I thought it would leave my eyelashes soft like when you go have them stained in a salon, but no, its like have thick clumpy mascara that wont wash off. 
  • We ate out four times instead of twice over the last week.
  • I bought an audiobook on itunes.
  • I also got Starbucks twice. That is not exactly against my rules, but I gave myself two trips for the month and I used up both trips in the very first week!
I am proud because there were many times that I thought of things I wanted to get but passed on buying. At first I thought about making a list of things that I wanted to buy, and waiting until October to make the purchases. But it kind of defeats the purpose of cutting back this month if I just buy double next month. So I figure that if I REALLY want the item and it still seems like a good idea then I will remember it without writing it down.
Leave a Reply

